Bars

Birdcage Bar

Perch yourself in the Birdcage Bar and don’t be surprised if the barman knows exactly what you’re after. Operating since 1973, this renowned retro bar brims with warmth and live music every night of the week.

Known for its list of premium cocktails, no wonder those who enter the brass bars of the birdcage stay longer than planned.  At this Hobart cocktail bar there’s always someone to chat to. With its circular bar inviting conversation, and late opening hours, there’s no reason to rush once inside.

Found just inside the door of Wrest Point Tasmania, the intriguing design begs to pop your head in. You’ll find a hand-painted mural, perhaps someone tinkering on the ivory keys and always a friendly smile behind the bar. So if you’re looking for some live Hobart entertainment and a barman who knows just what to shake and serve you, head for the Birdcage. Find out why the locals flock to this intimate Hobart bar.


Open daily from 5pm until late. 18+ venue.

Live Entertainment:

Monday 19 January 8pm onwards Billy & Randall Birdcage Bar
Tuesday 20 January 8pm onwards Sambo Birdcage Bar
Wednesday 21 January 8pm onwards Glen Chalice Birdcage Bar
Thursday 22 January 9pm onwards Tony Makro Birdcage Bar
Friday 23 January 9pm onwards Jason Patmore Birdcage Bar
Saturday 24 January 9pm onwards Glen Chalice Birdcage Bar
Sunday 25 January 8pm onwards Matt & Abby Birdcage Bar
Monday 26 January 8pm onwards Billy & Randall Birdcage Bar
Tuesday 27 January 8pm onwards Jerome Hiller Birdcage Bar
Wednesday 28 January 8pm onwards Glen Chalice Birdcage Bar
Thursday 29 January 9pm onwards Jerome Hiller Birdcage Bar
Friday 30 January 9pm onwards Jason Patmore Birdcage Bar
Saturday 31 January 9pm onwards Glen Chalice Birdcage Bar
Sunday 1 February 8pm onwards Glen Chalice Birdcage Bar
Monday 2 February 8pm onwards Billy & Randall Birdcage Bar
Tuesday 3 February 8pm onwards Shaun & Joel Birdcage Bar
Wednesday 4 February 8pm onwards Tony Voglino Birdcage Bar
Thursday 5 February 9pm onwards Jerome Hiller Birdcage Bar
Friday 6 February 9pm onwards Jason Patmore Birdcage Bar
Saturday 7 February 9pm onwards Jason Patmore Birdcage Bar
Sunday 8 February 8pm onwards Jerome Hiller Birdcage Bar
Monday 9 February 8pm onwards Billy & Randall Birdcage Bar
Tuesday 10 February 8pm onwards Glen Chalice Birdcage Bar
Wednesday 11 February 8pm onwards Tony Makro Birdcage Bar
Thursday 12 February 9pm onwards Sambo Birdcage Bar
Friday 13 February 9pm onwards Jason Patmore Birdcage Bar
Saturday 14 February 9pm onwards Jason Patmore Birdcage Bar
Sunday 15 February 8pm onwards Jason Patmore Birdcage Bar