Bars

Perch yourself in the Birdcage Bar and don’t be surprised if the barman knows exactly what you’re after. Operating since 1973, this renowned retro bar brims with warmth and live music every night of the week.

Known for its list of premium cocktails, no wonder those who enter the brass bars of the birdcage stay longer than planned.  At this Hobart cocktail bar there’s always someone to chat to. With its circular bar inviting conversation, and late opening hours, there’s no reason to rush once inside.

Found just inside the door of Wrest Point Tasmania, the intriguing design begsyou to pop your head in. You’ll find a hand-painted mural, perhaps someone tinkering on the ivory keys, and always a friendly smile behind the bar. So, if you’re looking for some live Hobart entertainment and a barman who knows just what to shake and serve you, head for the Birdcage. Find out why the locals flock to this intimate Hobart bar.

Open daily from 5pm until late. 18+ venue.

DOUBLE HAPPY HOUR!

Each night the Birdcage has a 'double happy hour'.

6pm to 7pm

&

9pm to 10pm

$13.50 Cocktails & $1 off all other drinks!

So whether it's before a gig or a nightcap after dinner - join us in the Birdcage for happy hour and ask our friendly staff about the latest cocktails or local drop.

Jazz in the Birdcage Bar | Free & live from 8.30pm

Each Wednesday we will feature one of Tasmania’s jazz aficionado’s including:

- Black Coffee

- Dance in a Shoebox

- Billy & Aaron

- Sabine Bester

- Ally Rae Patmore Trio

- Fred Bradshaw Trio

View the schedule below.

Jazzy Concoctions | Featured every Wednesday for $14 each

Sidecar

Remy Martin VSOP, Cointreau shaken & double strained with lemon juice into a champagne saucer. Finished with lemon ring in a half sugar rimmed glass

Mary Pickford

White Bacardi rum & pineapple juice shaken with maraschino syrup & grenadine. Strained into a champagne saucer

Colony Cocktail

Gordons Gin is combined with fresh pink grapefruit juice & maraschino syrup. Spiked with a Cherry Brandy chaperone. Shaken & strained into a champagne saucer, garnished with grapefruit rind

Mint Julep

Makers Mark Bourbon, fresh mint & sugar syrup are shaken & double strained into a champagne saucer & finished with a sprig of mint

Enjoy responsibly.

Live Entertainment in the Birdcage Bar:

Friday, 29 April 2016 Tim & Scott 9pm to 1am
Saturday, 30 April 2016 Tony Voglino 9pm to 1am
Sunday, 1 May 2016 Glen Challice 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Monday, 2 May 2016 Billy & Randal 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Tuesday, 3 May 2016 Glen Challice 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Wednesday, 4 May 2016 Billy & Sabine 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Thursday, 5 May 2016 Sambo 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Friday, 6 May 2016 Glen Challice 9pm to 1am
Saturday, 7 May 2016 Tony Voglino 9pm to 1am
Sunday, 8 May 2016 Fiona Whitla 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Monday, 9 May 2016 Billy & Randal 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Tuesday, 10 May 2016 Sambo 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Wednesday, 11 May 2016 Sabine Bester 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Thursday, 12 May 2016 Fiona Whitla 9pm to 1am
Friday, 13 May 2016 Glen Challice 9pm to 1am
Saturday, 14 May 2016 Sambo & Patto 9pm to 1am
Sunday, 15 May 2016 Glen Challice 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Monday, 16 May 2016 Billy & Randal 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Tuesday, 17 May 2016 Tony Voglino 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Wednesday, 18 May 2016 Black Coffee 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Thursday, 19 May 2016 Nick Marshall 9pm to 1am
Friday, 20 May 2016 Jerome Hillier 9pm to 1am
Saturday, 21 May 2016 Glen Challice 9pm to 1am
Sunday, 22 May 2016 Fiona Whitla 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Monday, 23 May 2016 Billy & Randal 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Tuesday, 24 May 2016 Sambo 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Wednesday, 25 May 2016 Aly Rae Patmore Trio 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Thursday, 26 May 2016 James Maddock Swing 4 9pm to 1am
Friday, 27 May 2016 Dan Vandermeer 9pm to 1am
Saturday, 28 May 2016 Glen Challice 9pm to 1am
Sunday, 29 May 2016 Glen Challice 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Monday, 30 May 2016 Billy & Randal 8:30pm - 11:30pm
Tuesday, 31 May 2016 Tony Voglino 8:30pm - 11:30pm

Click here to view the full property local entertainment line-up