Bars

Perch yourself in the Birdcage Bar and don’t be surprised if the barman knows exactly what you’re after. Operating since 1973, this renowned retro bar brims with warmth and live music every night of the week.

Known for its list of premium cocktails, no wonder those who enter the brass bars of the birdcage stay longer than planned.  At this Hobart cocktail bar there’s always someone to chat to. With its circular bar inviting conversation, and late opening hours, there’s no reason to rush once inside.

Found just inside the door of Wrest Point Tasmania, the intriguing design begsyou to pop your head in. You’ll find a hand-painted mural, perhaps someone tinkering on the ivory keys, and always a friendly smile behind the bar. So, if you’re looking for some live Hobart entertainment and a barman who knows just what to shake and serve you, head for the Birdcage. Find out why the locals flock to this intimate Hobart bar.

Open daily from 5pm until late. 18+ venue.

Jazz in the Birdcage Bar | Free & live from 8.30pm

Each Wednesday we will feature one of Tasmania’s jazz aficionado’s including:

- Black Coffee

- Dance in a Shoebox

- Billy & Aaron

- Sabine Bester

- Ally Rae Patmore Trio

- Fred Bradshaw Trio

View the schedule below.

Jazzy Concoctions | Featured every Wednesday for $14 each

Sidecar

Remy Martin VSOP, Cointreau shaken & double strained with lemon juice into a champagne saucer. Finished with lemon ring in a half sugar rimmed glass

Mary Pickford

White Bacardi rum & pineapple juice shaken with maraschino syrup & grenadine. Strained into a champagne saucer

Colony Cocktail

Gordons Gin is combined with fresh pink grapefruit juice & maraschino syrup. Spiked with a Cherry Brandy chaperone. Shaken & strained into a champagne saucer, garnished with grapefruit rind

Mint Julep

Makers Mark Bourbon, fresh mint & sugar syrup are shaken & double strained into a champagne saucer & finished with a sprig of mint

Enjoy responsibly.

Live Entertainment in the Birdcage Bar:

Monday, 18 January 2016 Billy & Randal
Tuesday, 19 January 2016 Tony Voglino
Wednesday, 20 January 2016 Aly Rae Patmore Trio
Thursday, 21 January 2016 James Maddock
Friday, 22 January 2016 Glen Challice
Saturday, 23 January 2016 Glen Challcie
Sunday, 24 January 2016 Fiona Whitla
Monday, 25 January 2016 Billy & Ransal
Tuesday, 26 January 2016 Sambo
Wednesday, 27 January 2016 Dance in a Shoebox
Thursday, 28 January 2016 Les Coqs
Friday, 29 January 2016 Glen Challice
Saturday, 30 January 2016 Glen Challcie
Sunday, 31 January 2016 Sambo
Monday, 1 February 2016 Billy & Randal
Tuesday, 2 February 2016 Sambo
Wednesday, 3 February 2016 Billy & Aaron
Thursday, 4 February 2016 The Timeless Stompers
Friday, 5 February 2016 Glen Challice
Saturday, 6 February 2016 Tony Voglino
Sunday, 7 February 2016 Tim & Scott
Monday, 8 February 2016 Billy & Randal
Tuesday, 9 February 2016 Tony Voglino
Wednesday, 10 February 2016 Sabine Bester
Thursday, 11 February 2016 Glen Challice
Friday, 12 February 2016 Glen Challice
Saturday, 13 February 2016 Sambo
Sunday, 14 February 2016 Fiona Whitla 
Monday, 15 February 2016 Billy & Randal
Tuesday, 16 February 2016 Tony Voglino
Wednesday, 17 February 2016 Black Coffee
Thursday, 18 February 2016 James Maddock
Friday, 19 February 2016 Tim & Scott
Saturday, 20 February 2016 Glen Challice
Sunday, 21 February 2016 Tim & Scott
Monday, 22 February 2016 Billy & Randal
Tuesday, 23 February 2016 Sambo
Wednesday, 24 February 2016 Dance in a Shoebox
Thursday, 25 February 2016 Les Coqs
Friday, 26 February 2016 Glen Challice
Saturday, 27 February 2016 Glen Challice
Sunday, 28 February 2016 Sambo
Monday, 29 February 2016 Billy & Randal

Click here to view the full property local entertainment line-up

 

book now